Making Pear Butter

I got a bee in my bonnet recently to make some pear butter (as opposed to apple butter). I wish I could say that this bee didn’t buzz because I had some pears that were sitting on my kitchen counter nearly going bad, but alas I can’t claim that.

I used a recipe from Ball – – super simple. It’s a variation on peach butter. After the initial boil of water, pears, and lemon juice/zest the mixture resembled pear sauce. But the apparent secret to making any type of fruit butter thicken up is to add sugar and let
the mixture boil for between 30 and 60 minutes.

I followed the advice in the Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving Cookbook about how to test the butter: by dropping some of the butter onto a chilled plate. If the butter keeps it shape and doesn’t run then it’s likely ready.

So here’s the finished product — 7 1/2 pounds of pears made exactly eight 8 ounce jars.

Next up I’m going to attempt the Spiced Apple Butter recipe from Canning For a New Generation that uses a crock pot.

About figgsandsuch

I'm a thirty-something wife, momma to two, daughter, friend, and wanna be baker, maker, creator, and runner.
This entry was posted in Food, Gifts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

