Mini Raised Bed Vegetable Garden

Faithful readers (love you guys!) of this blog know that starting this blog fulfilled one of three of my new years resolutions for 2011. The other resolutions were to run a half marathon (scheduled for next month) and to grow a vegetable garden.

Thanks to lots of advice from friends and countless books this is what I’ve got:

A vegetable garden!

(apologies for the funky picture, but you get the idea!)

It’s mini for sure, 4 X 7. I went the really easy route and bought a ready made raised bed kit. The advice I was given was to start small and not get burned out during this first attempt at gardening.

I might actually be stuffing too much in here, but so far we’ve got planted (in seed form): beets, carrots, sunflowers and pumpkins.  There’s very little evidence that seeds have been planted and I’m hoping this changes, otherwise I’ll buy a couple of plants in the coming weeks.

In plant form we’ve got basil, cabbage, and tomatoes. It’s a bit embarrassing to admit, but I had an onion sprouting in the kitchen and just decided to plant it, so that’s in there too.

My hope is to add peppers, a sweet potato, and cucumbers in the next week or two. So there you have it.

So far I’m thinking that gardening is really a leap of faith. We planted marigold and some other flower seeds in other places around the yard and there’s no evidence that they are coming up either. But perhaps I’ll have some progress to report in the next couple of weeks.  Next year, I think I will try to start some of the veggies from seed instead of just hoping that the seeds I put into the ground actually take.

Thanks for joining me during this adventure in gardening!

Please tell me about your garden. What are you growing? Any advice for a novice?

About figgsandsuch

I'm a thirty-something wife, momma to two, daughter, friend, and wanna be baker, maker, creator, and runner.
This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mini Raised Bed Vegetable Garden

  1. DebbieL says:

    Dear Kelly, The secret to successful gardening is to focus on what does come up; and not on what didn’t come up!! It will be fine!! GOOD LUCK!

    • figgsandsuch says:

      Makes total sense! Thanks for those words of encouragement. So far the things that have come up haven’t died! So that’s a plus. It’s become quite the family project — so that’s really fun.

Leave a Reply

