Pickling Watermelon Rind

Howdy!

Hope everyone had a Happy Mother’s day! Over the weekend we pickled watermelon rind. Yes, “we” is necessary here because my very own mother did the prepping of the rind (an enormous job) and the taste testing.

I used this recipe from Ball. We doubled the recipe because we used the rind from 4 medium sized seedless watermelons and ended up with 32 cups of watermelon rind, instead of the 16 the recipe called for.

Be warned: It is a two day process to make and can the rind.

Here’s a picture of the rind after its first rinse:

Then here’s the rind prior to boiling:

Here’s the syrup mixture with sugar, vinegar and cinnamon sticks (take these out before combining with the rind):

Here’s the nearly finished product when the syrup and rind are combined and boil for about an hour:

After processing the rind in jars for about 10 minutes I got 13 jars of this:

These bad boys are super sweet and I think they are a pretty acquired taste! But they were fun to make (minus the initial prep of the watermelon) and will make great holiday presents!

About figgsandsuch

I'm a thirty-something wife, momma to two, daughter, friend, and wanna be baker, maker, creator, and runner.
This entry was posted in Food, Gifts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pickling Watermelon Rind

  1. I’ve never had this before. Could you compare the taste to something?

    • figgsandsuch says:

      My dad grew up in the south eating these – so maybe they are a southern thing? They taste like an amazingly sweet pickle. And he just eats them on the side with a sandwich. Theyare almost too sweet but apparently that’s the “right” taste – really nothing like watermelon. Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

  2. Chrissy says:

    I have never in my life heard of pickled watermelon! But, I will say your description has me intrigued. I wonder if anyone sells it? I’d be interested in trying it, but don’t think I’d be up for the task of making it myself without knowing if we like it or not. Had you ever had it before? What made you want to make it?

    • figgsandsuch says:

      Chrissy — totally crazy stuff, I know! My Dad grew up in Virginia and really, really likes pickled rind. So that’s why I made it, for part of his Father’s day present! I’ve seen it in sort of mom and pop stores that sell jams/jellies. It is very, very sweet. I think this is a once in the lifetime thing for me, but I’m glad I tried making it — just not sure how to get rid of 13 jars! I’ve never seen it in other parts of the country besides the south — but maybe it’s not everywhere down there either? Hope you had a good mother’s day! and thanks (as always) for reading/commenting! You rock!

Leave a Reply

