Easter Cake

Hope you all had a wonderful holiday weekend!

So we’ll describe the cake I made as “kitsch” and leave it at that. It had all the key ingredients to make some of the junior members of the family happy: pink icing, sprinkles, and marshmallows.

The icing choices were much debated, but I decided against icing the sides and instead attached peeps with the same chocolate icing I used between the cake layers.

I think this cake may have started a new tradition — making an outlandish Easter cake every year!

About figgsandsuch

I'm a thirty-something wife, momma to two, daughter, friend, and wanna be baker, maker, creator, and runner.
This entry was posted in Food, Ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Easter Cake

  1. DebbieL says:

    Oh Kelly! This looks absolutely amazing! It’s fun, and a memory in the making! What a great way to celebrate Easter with your girls. And I’m imagining eating a slightly dried out peep with chocolate cake………… YUM Your imagination is limitless. Thanks for sharing

  2. Jen I. says:

    It WAS delicious, I agree, as a privileged eater of said cake!

  3. annie l says:

    This brought back memories for me! In jr high I started bunny easter cakes… i will start that up again.. here’s a link to the version I made (originally I cut it from the coupon section of the Sunday paper I think), In case you are already looking for next year’s cake!

    http://pragmaticcompendium.wordpress.com/2009/04/08/easter-bunny-cake/

Leave a Reply

