Finished: Pennant Decoration for Birthday Party!

Just wanted to follow up on a previous post about the pennant I made following this tutorial from Diary of a Quilter. The tutorial really is excellent, check it out.  Like Amy recommends, I wouldn’t bother with pins when you are sewing the triangles to the bias tape. Also, I cut out a triangle from a piece of cardboard and used that to make sure the triangles were all about the same size.

I made two of these pennants one for our fireplace and the other will hang in our dining room window. I’m excited to put them both up for Sunday’s birthday party!

I think this would be a great project for using up bed sheets and any extra fabric. I’m half tempted to make these for every season — seriously they are that easy and they really do make a room seem festive.

Big thanks to Diary of Quilter for this fun (and quick) project!

About figgsandsuch

I'm a thirty-something wife, momma to two, daughter, friend, and wanna be baker, maker, creator, and runner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Finished: Pennant Decoration for Birthday Party!

  1. amy smart says:

    I’m so glad it was easy – and that the tutorial made sense. 🙂 It turned out darling. My daughter would kill for a purple one. I really need to make one like yours. Have a fun birthday party!! 🙂

  2. Chrissy says:

    The pennant looks great, Kelly! I’ve also thought about making something like that to hang around the house…it really does add some fun color to a room! Hope the party went well and Happy Birthday to Miss Lucy!

    • figgsandsuch says:

      Thanks, Chrissy! The party was such fun — filled with pink and purple!! Did your girls go through such a phase? If you make any pennants, let me know. They are super fast and I think they would be a great addition to any holiday gathering! Hope you are doing well. Thanks so much for reading/commenting!

Leave a Reply

