Fruit and Nut Bars That Will Make Your Mouth and Tummy Very Happy

I’m continuing to love Alice Medrich’s latest cookbook: Chewy, Gooey, Crispy, Crunchy: Melt-In-Your Mouth Cookies. I mentioned this book in an earlier post about my favorite cookbooks. I keep coming back to the book because lately we’ve had several things going on that involved our needing to share something sweet.

I’ve made the Fruit and Nut Bars that are in the cookbook twice now and each time they’ve been delicious. Here’s the recipe thanks to Purple House Dirt (who got permission from the author herself to post the recipe). The recipe calls for dates, apricots, and walnuts, but I didn’t have those on hand, so instead used chopped pecans in one version, almonds in another and then a mixture of currants, golden raisins, and dried cranberries.

In fact, here’s a pic of all the ingredients I used:

The nuts and fruit are held together with just enough batter to bind everything.

Here are the ingredients before the egg and vanilla is added, you’ll see it’s pretty dry, but the end result is just lovely.

Here’s the mixture in the pan (after the wet ingredients have been added) right before going into the oven.

Here’s the finished product after baking. I had to use some real self restraint and let these cool before cutting with a sharp knife. All that waiting for them to cool meant I didn’t get a picture of a single bar, but trust me, you can’t stop at just one!

As an aside: one of the best tips detailed in this excellent book is to turn over your baking pan and wrap foil around the bottom, this makes it so much easier when you’re attempting to line the right side of baking pan with foil before baking. Like this:

This will continue to be our go to recipe when we’re in the mood for something fruity and nutty! I think it might be fun to try all the recipes in Medrich’s book – maybe one day I’ll have the time to do just that!

About figgsandsuch

I'm a thirty-something wife, momma to two, daughter, friend, and wanna be baker, maker, creator, and runner.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fruit and Nut Bars That Will Make Your Mouth and Tummy Very Happy

  1. Thanks for stopping by my homemade clif bars post. I’m going to have to check out that bar recipe you linked up since I am always looking for new recipes. Each Wednesday I feature recipes from all around the blogosphere. Hope you can stop by 🙂 Have a nice day.
    Katie

    • figgsandsuch says:

      Katie — Thanks for stopping by here too! I’m now a subscriber to your blog, so I’ll be sure not to miss any of your posts! On Friday I normally write a “Friday Finds” post full of links to other blogs and I’m going to include your homemade clif bar post — unless that’s not OK with you. They just sound so yummy. Tonight I made granola, but you have to cook it, so the no cook clif bar has a lot of appeal! Have a great day too! Oh and if you try the fruit/nut bars, let me know what you think!! Thanks again, Kelly

  2. Pingback: Homemade Brownies the Alice Medrich Way | figgsandsuch

Leave a Reply

