Recovering from Cheesecake Gone Bad: Chocolate Cheesecake Balls

I’m participating in Made by You Mondays hosted by Skip to My Lou — lots of great ideas there. You should totally check out the other entries!

Oh this is a sad tale, join me won’t you?

A couple of weeks ago I needed to make a cheesecake for a family member’s birthday. No problem, right? I had a good/simple recipe from a coworker that I’ve used before, no problem. Well, I made the crust and the filling, but the filling was sort of lumpy. Not huge big lumps, but I was worried about the consistency even after the cake was in the oven. After my bad experience making mini cheesecakes I’ve sort of soured on the whole dessert, but alas birthdays are birthdays and special treats are warranted — so forge ahead I did.

Ultimately, I was in a quandary – I couldn’t really just cut a piece of the cake, without ruining it. So I decided to making another cheesecake (making sure this time the cream cheese and eggs were both at room temperature – no lumps this time around).

But I couldn’t just throw away my first cheesecake, right? And anything dipped in chocolate usually turns out OK, right?

So…Chocolate Cheesecake Balls were born!

Sandra Lee (of Food Network fame) made a similar recipe, but I think mine is a little simplier.

Here are the ingredients:

  • Already made cheesecake (mine was 9 inches round).
  • White almond bark candy or white chocolate, melted (I used one 24 oz package of almond bark and had some left over)
  • Melon Baller
  • Sprinkles/decorations (totally optional, but fun)

Here’s what I did:

Put the cheesecake into the freezer, mine was probably in there for 2 hours and could have probably stayed in there a couple hours more to get even harder.

Real foodies, don’t hate me, but we didn’t have any white chocolate on hand, just white almond bark, so that is what I melted in the microwave:

Then I took a melon baller to the the frozen cheesecake:

Then I simply dipped the cheesecake into the warm almond bark. This proved to be a little messy. So I wouldn’t recommend using non-white chocolate with this because I think the white of the cheesecake was helpful in hiding the spots on the ball that might not have gotten completely covered in chocolate.

Once the cheesecake was more or less covered in chocolate I just added some red sprinkles (it being close to Valentine’s and all).

So there you have it… cheesecake revisited.

These are pretty tasty, hard outside because of the chocolate, but soft in the middle thanks to the cheesecake. We stored these in the fridge until we were ready to enjoy them.

Have you ever made something that didn’t turn out, only to remake it into something pretty yummy?

About figgsandsuch

I'm a thirty-something wife, momma to two, daughter, friend, and wanna be baker, maker, creator, and runner.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Recovering from Cheesecake Gone Bad: Chocolate Cheesecake Balls

  1. YUM! I had some chocolate covered cheesecake at the county fair this year and it was amazing. I’ve been trying to figure out how to make it myself since then. I am totally going to try your recipie now. Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. imanairhead says:

    Does this work for no bake cheesecake as well?

    • figgsandsuch says:

      I’m so sorry, I don’t know. I assume if you can freeze no bake cheesecake and have it get really hard then it would work just fine. Good luck! And thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

