My Favorite Cookbooks — Star Wars, Ina, America’s Test Kitchen, and More

I thought it might be fun to share some of the cookbooks I’m currently loving. I actually had this post on my “to do” list for a couple of weeks, but was inspired by this post about favorite cookbooks at Inchmark and decided to share my favorites with you without delay!

I should say, that I think these cookbooks are a reflection of where we are right now as a family. We won’t be making baby food forever and it’s likely that we’ll move past the Star Wars cook book for inspiration. I’ve also gotten interested in canning recently, so depending on whether or not that infatuation continues my favorite cookbooks will likely change.

Ta da!

Super Baby Food : Ruth Yaron

This is my go to book for making baby food. It also has recipes for toddlers and even includes ideas for homemade gifts, arts and crafts and toys.

Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving : Judi Kingry & Lauren Devine

This book appears to be the end all and be all of home canning recipes. Its got everything from your basic jam to chili sauces and even pear pickles. There isn’t a picture for each recipe, but the pictures included are beautiful and the instructions are plain and easy to follow.

Wookie Cookies: A Star Wars Cookbook : Robin Davis

I got this cookbook for my husband one Christmas and much to my surprise we’ve actually used it! Perhaps it’s obvious, but the recipes are all Star Wars themed — so far we’ve made the Yoda Soda and the Oola-la French Toast. This really is a great cookbook to use with kids as instructions are given with an eye toward what a child is able to do. I’m excited to try the R2-D2 treats (made with kit kat bars and a banana to look like R2-D2)!

How Easy is That?: Fabulous Recipes & Easy Tips :  Ina Garten

This book and the next are simply eye candy. The book and pictures are just beautiful. I really like Ina Garten’s TV show and received this cook book as a Christmas present. The book is sprinkled throughout with her tips. For the most part the recipes seem very accessible. I’m going to try her spaghetti aglio e olio this weekend (just basically spaghetti tossed with olive oil, herbs, and Parmesan cheese!)

The America’s Test Kitchen Family Baking Book: The Only Baking Book You’ll Ever Need

If you’re like me and sit around and read cook books like they are novels — this is one you won’t want to miss. The book is divided up into 22 sections from rustic breads to pies and pastries. There is even a special section for wedding cakes. A really nice feature is that the book is sprinkled with “Test Kitchen Tips” which offer helpful tidbits for completing the recipe.

Chewy, Gooey, Crispy, Crunchy: Melt-In-Your Mouth Cookies by : Alice Medrich

One word — yummy! This book is all about cookies. It was a stroke of real genius to divide up the book into sections based on cookie texture. The recipes here range from simple to more involved. I highly recommend the fruit and nut bars. Not all the recipes are photographed, but the ones that are are just beautiful.

So that’s my list.

What are some of your favorite cookbooks?

About figgsandsuch

I'm a thirty-something wife, momma to two, daughter, friend, and wanna be baker, maker, creator, and runner.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Favorite Cookbooks — Star Wars, Ina, America’s Test Kitchen, and More

  1. DebbieL says:

    My most favorite cookbooks, besides the BH&G red and white checked which is my cooking bible and I’m on my second one, are the ‘homemade’ cookbooks you find from churches and local community groups. I have a State Farm cookbook made locally here in Columbia years ago and it is my GO TO cookbook when I’m looking for basic recipes I would normally have all the ingredients for in my pantry. I think cookbooks we use kind of show individual personalities in a way!! I have all my mom’s all cookbooks, recipe cards now too which are fascinating.

    • figgsandsuch says:

      Oh Debbie – having your mom’s recipe cards must be so fun. I love those ‘homemade’ cook books too – in fact, I used to always buy them at the Daniel Boone library sales. My only problem was that to find a recipe I had to look through all the cookbooks- I sort of need to devise some sort of organized system to keep track of the recipes I like best. So glad you mentioned those – they are so lovely and usually so down to earth too! Totally agree cook books are such a reflection of personality!

  2. Jean says:

    If you’re looking for food from different cultures, Hermes House publishes a series that I’ve found really useful. I usually get them from the sale table at Borders. Otherwise, I have to admit I don’t use cookbooks much because they take up a lot of space in my luggage. I tend to get recipes online or from other people.

  3. Pingback: Fruit and Nut Bars That Will Make Your Mouth and Tummy Very Happy | figgsandsuch

Leave a Reply

