Birthday Table Runner

We’ve got a series of birthdays coming up and I thought it would be fun to create something that only “comes out” on birthdays.

Seems like I remember a special plate we had when I was a kid that was only used for birthday meals.

Anyway, I was itching to do a quick quilting project too, so thought I’d “kill two birds with one stone” and create a birthday themed table runner. A friend turned me on to this Frame Up pattern, so that’s what I used. It was super quick and easy. For more experienced quilters you could finish this project in a single night!

Sneak peak of the finished project:

So here’s the step by step process!

Joining two strips and then cutting smaller strips:

Joining the strips to the top/bottom and sides of the middle rectangle:

Attaching the binding. I’ve never actually done my own binding before – and it’s sort of a chore, but this tutorial from Heather Bailey Design was really very helpful and easy to follow. There are also some helpful YouTube videos on the subject, if you’re interested.

Here’s my binding strip:

And the finished table runner:


Ta Da! A table runner for use during our birthday celebrations!

Does your family have something that only comes out for special occasions?

About figgsandsuch

I'm a thirty-something wife, momma to two, daughter, friend, and wanna be baker, maker, creator, and runner.
This entry was posted in Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

