Testing: Barefoot Contessa’s Brownies!

I’m a big fan of Ina Garten and her Barefoot Contessa Food Network Show.  She seems so approachable and her recipes are a nice mix of fancy and easy.

I’m also a big fan of brownies.

When we came across Barefoot Contessa’s Outrageous Brownie Mix I hoped it would be a match made in my kitchen!

Today marks the start of a new semester and to celebrate last night I whipped up the brownies! We bought the mix for $11.25. The mix only makes 9 brownies, so I was immediately skeptical – $1.25 a brownie (not including the eggs and butter that have to be added)? Could they possibly be that good — especially from a box?

Well, you just wait.

Here’s the box:

Contents of the box include one packet of brownie mix and one package of chocolate chunks:

On the stove, in a glass bowl over simmering water I melted the chocolate and one stick of butter:

Then I let that butter/melted chocolate mixture cool:

Next I just beat together the packet of brownie mix, chocolate/butter mixture, and added two eggs (we decided against adding nuts):

The dough is very moist.  Here it is the pan.

The directions say to bake for exactly 35 minutes, no more. So that’s what I did.  Fresh from the oven!

The brownies were super gooey and totally outrageous! If it’s possible for a brownie to be too chocolate? If so, these might qualify. We served these with ice cream and sprinkles!

The verdict: Yummy!  The brownies were worth $1.25 each and were a great way to celebrate the start of a new school year! We’d make these again and  I’m interested in other box mixes from Barefoot Contessa like the mint brownies and lemon squares — but I’ll try to find them on sale!

Have you ever used gourmet mixes? Would you recommend them?

About figgsandsuch

I'm a thirty-something wife, momma to two, daughter, friend, and wanna be baker, maker, creator, and runner.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Testing: Barefoot Contessa’s Brownies!

  1. Corey says:

    Thanks for the tips! This is my first visit to this blog, but I must say I will be back… very impressive.

Leave a Reply

