Holiday Wrap Up: Crafting

This is the last of three posts recapping our 2010 holiday season in terms of food, gifts, and crafting.

One of my personal holiday traditions is to try to have a homemade gift for my daughters under the Christmas tree. So here’s what I put together:

  • Stocking: This year I made our youngest daughter her Christmas stocking. I didn’t really have a pattern, I just traced around one of our other stockings. I pieced the stocking using some fat quarter scraps cut into strips

  • Fabric Book: The “book” is actually just about a yard of fabric with pages printed on it, that you then just cut and sew. These are pretty simple and can be purchased at any fabric store. All you really need is the fabric/book and some thin batting. I tried to make the book a little unique by attaching little pouches of bells inside the pages and inserting wax paper inside a page or two- so that the book made some noise. I also added ribbon “taggies” to the side of the book, for more texture.

  • Crayon Roll Up: Our eldest is very into Dora the Explorer and coloring. So I made her a crayon roll up, based on this awesome tutorial from nested. You can play around with the pattern a bit and make the roll up bigger, just depends on the size of the crayons you’re wanting to roll. I made about four of these over the holidays and they were really quick.

  • My Gift: I made myself a lap quilt to celebrate 2010. I wanted to make something that was meaningful, so the quilt is made from scraps I had and some fabric my grandmother gave me. The printed fabric is full of strawberries, peppers, and other healthy foods! The pattern is Cheese and Crackers from Atkinson Designs.

Anybody else make themselves something to celebrate 2010?

About figgsandsuch

I'm a thirty-something wife, momma to two, daughter, friend, and wanna be baker, maker, creator, and runner.
This entry was posted in Gifts, Ideas, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Holiday Wrap Up: Crafting

  1. Jan says:

    Hey Keely,
    Love your blog. I don’t know where you find the time to do all of this.
    I’
    ll keep checking to see what your up to. Love ya

  2. Chrissy says:

    Hooray for handmade holidays! Seriously, you must share some tips on how you manage your time…you’re an animal! I love everything you made, but I am particularly glad to see that you also made time for yourself. So often we spend so much time making for others, and I think it’s so good when we remember that we can make stuff to keep also!

  3. DebbieL says:

    Kelly – the quilt is beautiful!! You make me think that maybe I could do that!! 😉 There’s a gal at work getting married this summer and I’d love to do something ‘special’ for her. You are so amazing to get all this done — you must not EVER SLEEP!!

Leave a Reply

